Noona Blog

The Daily Brief for Everyone

5 Things You Didn’t Know About The Next T20 World Cup


The next T20 World Cup will take place in 2020, featuring all of the top cricketing nations in the world. The rankings are based on the latest ICC World Cricket League Championship standings, with 15 teams qualifying for this year’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand next month. For some countries, this will be their second consecutive appearance after missing out on qualification in 2015. Others will be making their debuts this time around. Here are five things you didn’t know about this year’s edition of the T20 World Cup…


1) It is happening in India


India has hosted the T20 world cup tournament four times in 2007, 2012, 2014, and 2016. After India’s victory at the 2016 world cup tournament, ICC has allotted hosting rights for the next two t20 world cups to India. This is huge news for all cricket fans living in India because it means you get to watch your favorite cricketers live in action on your home ground. Are you excited? Of course, you are! But what do you know about these next world cup tournaments? Do not worry if you don’t know much about these tournaments yet because today we’ll tell you everything there is to know about them.


2) Unlike previous years, the venues are all pre-decided


India, Australia, New Zealand and South Africa will host four of these 11 matches each. There are still a few decisions to be made as per where each country will host its matches. In 2013, New Zealand hosted three group stage games in Napier, Auckland and Hamilton followed by two knockout games in Wellington and Christchurch. It was a boon for fans from those four cities as they were able to get autographs from their cricketing heroes. Cricket NZ then played one semi-final at Eden Park (Auckland) and one at McLean Park (Napier). Eden Park had previously hosted one of New Zealand’s six games at 2011 World Cup while McLean Park had previously hosted an ODI against West Indies in 2012.


3) Fantasy Cricket Will Be Played Before The Tournament Starts


Fantasy cricket has taken social media by storm, especially during major events like ICC tournaments. Since some of these matches are not available on TV in certain parts of world, people are turning to sites like Daily Fantasy Sports or Fanduel for their fantasy fix. Now that almost every tournament features a fantasy component, it’s only natural that fantasy players will want to start their teams early. For example, if you played fantasy cricket for last year’s world cup then there is no way you don’t have your squad ready for 2019.


4) There will be 20 teams instead of 14 teams


In a big step to improve visibility of matches, all matches will be day/night matches, except for final match. As per schedule released by International Cricket Council (ICC), all games will start between 4 p.m and 7 p.m local time. In 20 previous editions, only 5 matches were day/night games. Considering India’s love for cricket and popularity of cricket in India, it is expected that lot of fans will turn up to watch live day/night matches during next T20 world cup 2021 as well as other nations including USA, Australia and England.


5) All matches will be day/night matches (except final match)


To attract more viewers, ICC has announced that all matches in fantasy t20 world cup will be day/night matches (except final match). This means there will be no daytime sessions but day night sessions. Fans can experience uninterrupted action during the tournament. Broadcasters would also prefer day/night matches to earn higher ad revenue compared to daytime sessions. Fantasy t20 cricket is getting popular among youngsters and fans are looking forward to live day night fantasy t20 cricket world cup. This initiative of ICC is aimed at increasing interest in next fantasy t20 world cup for sure!